A Word with Work Study Student Molly Estes

MollyWhen I tell people that I work at the Syracuse University Press office, they usually assume that I work for a newspaper or something along those lines.  However, I have found that book publishing is far more exacting, and interesting, than many people realize.

During my first year at Syracuse University, I have been unsure of where I want to take my studies.  As a major in Communications and Rhetorical Studies, there is a broad spectrum of fields which I can narrow down.  I have found working at the SU Press office rewarding and even enlightening to my future.  Having put much consideration into pursuing a double major with Modern Languages, I have found interest in the translated texts that the SU Press has published.

While working with the Author Spotlight blog feature, I was fortunate enough to hear a firsthand account of what the translation process is like.  Though I do not think book translation is the particular path I want to follow, I was reminded of the wide variety of opportunities that Modern Languages could offer.  In fact, I was induced to research translation jobs at places such as hospitals, accounting firms, etc.  This has made me very excited for my future years at Syracuse and I appreciate the opportunities of learning and enrichment that I’ve found at SU Press.

Leave a Reply

